Will you be my Tweety Pi?

For a few months I’ve been hanging out on a yahoogroup that is dedicated to testing and seeing the designs of a gentleman named Leo Pola. Some of you might recognize the Queen Anne Shawl. That’s his design. Earlier in the year I knitted another one of his designs Spanish Armada. His yahoogroup is full of tidbits of his designing mind.

So when he posted a Tweety Pi pattern I’d figure I’d give it a shot. I’ve been meaning to knit a Pi for a while. I had no idea what it was going to look like though when I started which can always be a bit daunting, but I like it in the end just fine.
I modified the pattern at the end. The 2nd diamond rows aren’t shifted
in the original design. Keep that in mind if you decide to knit it. It
pretty much was just knitting 9 more stitches on one row and then
repeating a number of rows so it’s an easy modification. I changed the
cast off also, but that’s really a small item. I did a crochet cast off
since I was worried about amount of yarn I had left.

Yarn Used: Misti Alpaca. I used 3 skeins each of 2 colors (6 skeins total) I held blue and green together
Needles: Size 5
Size: 60 inches blocked

Thoughts: My first circular shawl. I’ll have to see what it’s like when I wear it, but unblocked it seemed to be a nice fit when I put it around my shoulders.

tweetypiwhole.jpg

tweetypicloseup.jpg

I asked why he called it Tweety Pi.

He said that he doodled the idea on a yellow legal pad and since yellow diamonds are called canary diamonds it sort of fit. Of course that and the massive amounts of feather and fan in it helps.

I also finished another project knit. Flow Motion Socks

by Cat Bordhi

These were knitted using Knit Pick Gloss “Parsley” held doubled.

I knitted them toe up, 2 socks on 1 circular and I’m really glad I did them both at once or I would have got quite the second sock syndrome. I thought the pattern would be easy, and it really was pretty easy, but it’s chocked full of twisted stitches! That really really slowed me down. It’s funny, since this is how I used to knit, Combined, but now that I don’t knit that way, I knitted the twisted stitches at a snails pace. Also the color isn’t my favorite though they match the other socks I’ve Project Knitted, that were also quite camo colored. I’ll get the hubby to send them of the their home next week.

flowmotionsocks.jpg

2 Comments

Filed under Family Life

2 responses to “Will you be my Tweety Pi?

  1. The shawl looks good with the diamonds shifted. Have a good day!

  2. Tola

    so how did the surgery go???

Leave a Reply

