Beads

Well, I tried it. Making stitch markers. I had in mind stitch markers that could be interchangeable. Something you could slip on already round markers if you like the type you have. So after looking through the 4 rows of beads at Michaels last night I came up with a system.

Went home and tried and and realized, bending wire, is hard! It shouldn’t be hard, it looks easy on tv when I see all the pretty people making pretty jewelry, but don’t let them fool you. It’s HARD.

So here’s my try. Not good, not bad, okay for a first try I think. The rings fit up to a size 10 needle. They are hanging on a size 9 right now, but if you notice, you can unclaps the ‘necklace’ part and slide them onto your own stitch markers if you like.

stitchmarkers_1.jpg

3 Comments

Filed under Other Hobbies

3 responses to “Beads

  1. I think you did a great job on them 🙂

  2. I have discovered that for making the rings to go on the needles, using the clasps like you would for a bracelette work best for me. Like, the kind that come with a ring and the bar that you put through the ring to clasp off the bracelette. Only you wouldn’t use the bar (unless you wanted it for something else of course). That way you don’t have to do too much bending, just on the little ring to get the other items on it. Also, the round nose pliers work best for me on bending those itty bitty little things, just fyi. They look great!! I like making stitchmarkers, earrings, etc. Lots of fun 🙂

  3. “I like em.” Bending wire on a dowel, baseball bat, etc. with a rawhide hammer makes it a lot easier…

Leave a Reply

