Secret Pal 8

Here you go my super special secret wonderful pal 8
(grin) It’s ‘nice’ to meet you, even if I haven’t yet….

1. What is/are your favorite yarn/s to knit with? What fibers do you absolutely *not* like?

Lately I’ve been struck by the Sock and Lace yarn bug. I’ve found over this year of re-discovering knitting that I’ve become somewhat of a yarn snob. I’ll still use from time to time the softer acrylics you might find at Joann’s but my wants and needs usually turn toward things I’ll find in my LYS or online. I’ve found over all I like blends of most things. I do not like fun fur type yarn though, nor do I like Misti Alpaca lace yarn (I have a hard time working with it) Some wools like Lambs Pride I like working with but I usually pay for it the next day. I’m just discovering some interesting blends of things like silk etc.

2. What do you use to store your needles/hooks in?
Well, I have this wine bottle holder that my tall needles go into, and then a 3-ring binder with sheet protectors for my other needles. Nothing real fancy and usually they all end up everywhere. My Looms I store in a wicker chest.

3. How long have you been knitting? Would you consider your skill level to be beginner, intermediate or advanced?

I first learned to knit when I was 13 (a few years ago grin), but I was taught wrong. I rediscovered knitting last August and I would term myself as probably intermediate. I’ve tried almost everything except things that would require a large amount of yarn (like a sweater for me…) I got chart reading down and that opened up alot of doors.

4. Do you have an Amazon or other online wish list?
I don’t, but if my secret pal wants one at Amazon, or Knitpicks or somewhere else, drop a line and I’ll make one.

5. What’s your favorite scent? (for candles, bath products etc.)
Fruits over florals.

6. Do you have a sweet tooth? Favorite candy?
Dark Chocolate. Nothing chewy like carmels. I don’t like hard candy either. I’m a big fan of that dark chocolate though… It lowers your blood pressure you know! I don’t really like my dark chocolate mixed with things, unless it’s more, dark chocolate!

7. What other crafts or Do-It-Yourself things do you like to do? Do you spin?

I don’t spin. Don’t need to right now. I’m happy buying yarn spun from others. I have tried it on an electric wheel though. I can crochet. I can quilt. I just don’t do it since I started knitting. Once I used even be an avid count cross stitcher. I also Loom Knit, though not as much now that I can do more needle knitting. http://www.dalooms.com are my favorite loom makers though. I’ve had other crafts in the past (like soap making, fabric dying, candle making…), but since knitting bit me, I haven’t done them.

8. What kind of music do you like? Can your computer/stereo play MP3s? (if your buddy wants to make you a CD)
I like, Late 80’s and early 90’s popular music and Christian songs (rock, gospel, contemp.)

9. What’s your favorite color? Or–do you have a color family/season/palette you prefer? Any colors you just can’t stand?

In one way or another I do enjoy all colors. It’s so hard for me to track down a favorite color. I wear blues, purples, reds, yellows, greens, sometimes bright, sometimes muted. My house is not decorated any special way. I mean my couch is brown if that helps lol. If it came down to it, probably would be more drawn to slightly darker gem colors (jewel colors) but there is such beauty in simple purity of white too.
I’m open =)

10. What is your family situation? Do you have any pets?
Wife of one, for hmm almost 12 years now. I have a 10 year old girl, 8 year old boy and almost 4 year old girl. There are pictures of them through out the blog. No pets, but I did used to raise gerbils and had a fish that died earlier in the year…

11. Do you wear scarves, hats, mittens or ponchos?
I knit them.
I’ve tried them on
They usually look pretty stupid on me. Especially hats. I’m still looking for a hat that might work with my fat head. I don’t wear mittens. I need my hands out to much. I do wear scarves and I’m so in love with lacy things. I’d probably wear a poncho if it was the right type, something that wouldn’t make me look to much like a beach whale.

12. What is/are your favorite item/s to knit?
Right now? Lacy things like scarves and shawls. Socks. And things with cables on them. I usually make cabled hats, they go quicker than a scarf and get me over my ‘cable addiction’ I think though I could be happy knitting lace for quite a while.

13. What are you knitting right now?
Adamas lace shawl from Knitpicks
Branching out from Knitty
Mountain Stream Scarf (same designer as Branching out)
pair of socks that I might frog
Prayer shawl on a Loom
Random dishcloths (looking for some nice yarn that will last through machine washing to give as gifts for christmas….. it’s a saga)

14. Do you like to receive handmade gifts?

Sure. I like to give them. I better like to recieve them.

15. Do you prefer straight or circular needles? Bamboo, aluminum, plastic?
Well… I’m not quite a needle snob yet, but I’m getting there. I’m open to trying anything though. I found a very cheap supplier of Addi Turbos on Ebay and have been buying some circulars here and there. I’ve been told they aren’t the best for Lace knitting through, but I’ve been making due. I have a hodgepodge of needles.

16. Do you own a yarn winder and/or swift?

Yarn winder yes. Swift… well if you have read my blog you’ll see that I have made a homemade swift out of my computer chair in the past. It works. (lol)

17. How did you learn to knit?
My mom taught me when I was younger, but it was a combined way of knitting and everything I knitted turned out pretty weird. This past year I’ve learned mostly from the internet (knittinghelp.com) and books and friends at a local LYS. I’m the type of person that loves learning so when I come to something and want to learn it I just try it until I do. I taught myself how to knit socks from a website.

18. How old is your oldest UFO?
It’s not a knitting one, it’s back when I used to be a quilter. I don’t keep UFO’s around long, they usually get frogged if I’m not going to work on them. I’m actually known as quite the frogger. I’ll cast on and do enough to learn the technique and then undo the project. That was until I found lace knitting and charts. There’s something about being able to check of each row of chart knitting that is just so rewarding and keeps me going.

19. What is your favorite holiday?
Christmas and Easter.

20. Is there anything that you collect?
Not really, but my internet name has been Ladydove (or mommydove etc) for so long that when ever I see a cute little white dove I’m drawn to them. My living room is about the only decorated thing in my home and it has a slight nautical theme.

21. Any books, yarns, needles or patterns out there you are dying to get your hands on? What knitting magazine subscriptions do you have?
No subscriptions to anything. I don’t have many knitting books either. No lace ones(sob) No sock ones (weep) Not that I don’t want them… just haven’t had the chance to get any. Yarn? Well, honest I’m easy to please in some cases. I really love the Shadow that Knitpick puts out. It’s a lace yarn. I’ve really enjoyed working with it. Gee, maybe if you get stuck you can email me and I’ll see what else I can tell ya.

22. Are there any new techniques you’d like to learn?
I haven’t made anything like a sweater or things that would require shaping or holding stitches like for arms, necks. I doubt I’d have problem doing it, I just haven’t bought that much yarn to do it. I do have a 4 year old though that I could practice making those sort of things for, I’ve just been so busy learning all these other things that it hasn’t come up. But I can see it lurking out in the future. Course if I make her something I’ll have to make my 8 year old son and 10 year old daughter something too…. lol. It’s the joke with my friends that usually I take a good pattern, and use the wrong needles and the wrong yarn for it. You know, try to get the pattern to fit what I have on hand. And of course, I’m usually very unhappy with the results. Recent cases of this were a clapotis I made and a felted bag (sigh) I’m learning my lesson though and realize designers really do know what yarn is best for their projects and trying to learn to trus them.

23. Are you a sock knitter? What are your foot measurements?
Yes I am. I use 2 sets of DPN when I knit and knit 2 socks at once. That way I don’t get second sock syndrome. I’m still learning about my gauge though and sometimes get things I didn’t mean to (my blog has history of that). I’ve not made many socks though. My measurements are: Ball of foot = 8 inches, Ankle bone = 9 inches Higher on leg = 10inches and length = 9.5 inches


24. When is your birthday? (mm/dd)

June 24th

Leave a comment

Filed under Needle Knits

Leave a Reply

