Knitting Nightmare

You,

I had a nightmare last night. A yucky and icky one. In the dream, I was knitting a wool lace weight cream shawl, much like my seraphim, in color. I was for some reason using these very blunt, and way to large wooden cable needles. I knew in the dream I was almost done, probably less than half a chart left of this very delicate, and super fussy edging. Double, triple yarn overs twists, turns, things I don’t even think are possible in knitting. I decided in the dream that it would be great to ‘try’ the shawl on just to see how it looked.

Now, I’m not sure why I was outside but I’m near this picnic table, that’s next to a wall of wood used as a wind break and on that wall is a full length mirror. So I gleefully toss the shawl around my shoulders and admire it’s beauty. It was very pretty, and I sort of skipped around to show everyone else (not sure who these everyone elses were though) They ooh and awed and then gasped.

I looked down behind me and saw to my horror those yucky knitting needles sprawled out on the ground behind me like a dead snake. I knew what had happened. Somehow, they had slipped ALL the way out of the 100’s and 100’s of stitches and there was my shawl, flapping in the wind and ravelling away. I grabbed the edges but got tangled in the working yarn, and that pulled even more.

I believed I could fix it but then I looked down and realized that all the stitch markers had fallen off and were scattered around in this tar like mud and people were walking by and trampling them into the mud and my needles were covered in this clay/tar like mud. I had to pick up those markers, for some reason, if I didn’t get the correct number of the markers picked up I knew my shawl wouldn’t be saved. So there I was trying to keep my pristine white shawl clean with out getting mud on it and grab all the markers before they got ground into the mud.

Thankfully the dream actually ‘changed’ into something else before I sat down and tried to cram those muddy markers onto the muddy needles and fix this impossible to fix shawl.

Eh? What the heck has gone wrong with my mind rofl.

Shall we see?


Knitting:

To dream that you are knitting, signifies a quiet, peaceful and loving home life. It may also
refer to someone in your life (past or present) who you associate with knitting. Alternatively, it symbolizes your creativity, accomplishments or your need to take time out from your regular routine.

Lace:
To see lace in your dream, represents your sensuality and the realization of your heart’s desires. It may also indicate that you are being overly practical in some area of your life.

Wool:
To see wool in your dream, symbolizes warmth and coziness. You are seeking protection from loved ones.

Wood: (the wood needles and wall)
To dream of wood, suggests that you are
feeling dead inside and emotionless. You may be behaving automatically and
just going along with the flow. Or you may be acting out without fully
thinking things through.

Table:
To see a table in your dream, represents social unity and the potential for a meeting or gathering. It refers to your social and family
connections. If the table is broken or not functional, then it suggests some dissension in a group. Perhaps there is something you cannot
hold inside any longer and need to bring it out in the open.

Mirror:
To see your own reflection in the mirror, suggests that you are pondering thoughts about your inner self.
The reflection in the mirror is how you perceive yourself or how you want others to see you. You may be contemplating on strengthening and changing aspects of your character.

Skipping
To
dream that you are skipping, suggests your need to be more light-hearted. You
may need to take a friendlier approach toward a situation. Alternatively, the
dream may indicate that you have skipped something important.

Dropping the Knitting:
To dream that you are
dropping things, indicates that you are letting go some project,
relationship, person, or idea. Also analyze the significance of what is being dropped. Alternatively, it may represent your carelessness. Perhaps you are expressing some dismay or regret in how you let something slip through fingers.

Yarn:
To see yarn
in your dream, symbolizes your connections and creativity. It may also mean that you are stuck in a rut and going about your daily life in the same old pattern. If the yarn is tangled and knotted yarn, then it signifies emotional distress or confusion you may have with a situation.

Mud:
To see mud in your dream, suggests that you are involved in a messy and sticky situation. It also suggests that some internal cleansing is needed.

Losing the Stitch Markers
To dream that you lose something may mean that you really have misplaced something that you had not realized yet.
It may also be a signal for you to clean out and reorganize your life. You have become overwhelmed and distracted with the hustle and bustle of
day-to-day life.

On a symbolic note, losing things in your dream may signify lost opportunities, past relationships or forgotten
aspects of yourself. Your personal associations to the thing you lose will
clue you into the emotional meaning and interpretation of your dream.

Hmm, no clue. You?
T.

2 Comments

Filed under Needle Knits

2 responses to “Knitting Nightmare

  1. Ummmmm, tangled in knitting–you are going around and around knitting shawls, lol.

    hehehehe…now that part about lace=sensuality…coollll 🙂

    Hugs

  2. That wasn’t a dream – that was a nightmare! Did you wake up in a cold sweat with heart racing? LOL

Leave a Reply

