Christmas Present

I did very little knitting this year for Christmas. I’ve done very little knitting the past 3 months. The socks featured in the blog entry a few entries down are in time out, off the needles and waiting to be rewound. Somehow the gauge (even though I did the math) just wasn’t right, so I’m starting over with new yarn, and a smaller stitch count. I finished the Glittens, but forgot to take a picture of them before giving them to my friend.

Thankfully I finished the below Christmas present before my ‘not in a knitting’ mood struck. The person it is for doesn’t read this blog, or at least has never mentioned that she does, so I don’t think she’ll see it before hand.

It’s the Rose of England Shawl. Yarn: Size 3 cotton crochet yarn on size 3 needles. I went back and forth about giving this to my chosen person, because I am really afraid it is not quite what she had in mind. It’s for a table top not to be worn, thus I used heavier yarn, but I think it might be to heavy. I also, as I always do, ran out of yarn, so fudged the edging.

I finally set about blocking it a bit today. Mostly with a steam iron and hoping to get the points a bit out so that it might lay or hang somewhat straight.

It’s a pretty shawl, just not so much in love with it. But it’s a design I think my chosen receiver might like (roses being one of her favorite flowers) and in a color that she likes (yellows and greens are her favorite) Plus it’s a supplement gift. My husband bought the ‘real’ gift months ago.

I hate talking bad about my knitting, but I don’t know. It’s probably a good thing that this was about the only Christmas knitting I did this year.

roseenglanda.jpg

roseenglandd.jpg

roseenglande.jpg

9 Comments

Filed under Lace Knitting

9 responses to “Christmas Present

  1. It is gorgeous! I am sure whomever the recipient is will love it!

  2. Kat

    Wow, I love it!!
    I think you’re being too hard on yourself–it’s really beautiful, and it the intended recipient doesn’t like it, I’d be glad to give it a good home. 😉

  3. It’s beautiful. You should not worry. I’m sure she will love it.

  4. WOW! You did an absolute AWESOME job on that!!!!

  5. It’s really pretty! You’re not allowed to say anything bad about it! 😀 Where did you get the pattern, and was it charted or written?

  6. Maureen

    It is gorgeous and i love the hint of color it doesn’t at all compete with the design.

    Kudo’s

  7. Beautiful! Be proud of yourself!

  8. Susan

    OH MY GOODNESS!! This is one of the most beautiful things I have ever seen (saw??) in my life! What a talent! It about knocked my slippers off my extremely cold feet this morning. : )

  9. Elizabeth A Gloor

    I have always admired the Rose of England lace piece and yours is very lovely. Thank you for sharing it with us. I am currently knitting “Lyra” by Herbert Niebling and am really enjoying knitting something this challenging. I, too, am using size 3 crochet thread and am very pleased with how it is looking so far.

Leave a Reply

