Pictures Return!

Dear You,

I haven’t been blogging much lately. I’ve been sort of on a “strike” You see, I’ve had a digital camera for about 10 years. I finally fell out of love with it.

It is a Sony Digital Mavica. It weighs 22 ounces, and uses 3.5 disks (that’s 1.44 megabytes) to take pictures. I can get about 5 pictures each disk. It’s heavy, it takes forever to save pictures, and I have to carry around 30 disks if I ever go to places like the zoo, or parties etc.

But I really liked the pictures it has taken. All the lovely shawl pictures on this blog have been done with it. It takes the best close up pictures, and I love it for that.

What was really starting to get to me was the weight. Lugging it around just wasn’t any fun.
So I went on a picture strike. It’s been slowly evolving, but the past few years have been pretty picture scarce. Sorry Kids, you’ll just have to remember Christmas and Birthdays.

So I got myself a new camera!!!

I got a Canon PowerShot SD600. It weighs 5 ounces, and can take up to 1gig of pictures (that’s 1024 megabytes) I went from 5 photos per shot, and a a 30 second saving time, to over 800 plus pictures with continuous shot. No more missed birthday candle wishes, or secret smiles. I’m in love.

Plus it can do some pretty nifty things. It has a snow feature, a kid and pet feature, fireworks, indoor, outdoor, nighttime, takes movies with sound etc etc…

It can do alot of stuff. (I am still learning the sensitivity of the camera so some of my shots are a bit out of focus.)

Speaking of Kids:
vankids_1.jpg

Think this picture had the flash on and it was up and over my head, so not to bad. My old camera couldn’t have the flash ever used. It never worked. You couldn’t see the pictures, so I got pretty good at editing when needed. So those of you who been wanting pictures of my kids. There you go!

Neat huh. I like it. It’s not a $1400 dollar camera but it works for me!

Now let’s talk weather.
Utah and Idaho are known for crazy weather patterns. I’m sure we aren’t the only ones, but it truly can be snowing one moment and a rainbow in the sky and hot enough to wear shorts the next. At least these past few days have been back to normal.. We’ve had a relatively calm winter, but we went to sleep and woke up and had snow a few days ago.

These pictures are taken out of my front window, so the camera is up against glass. Thus the glare on the first picture and other minor things on the others. (Me, go outside to take a picture…. are you joking?)

Feb 17th: (Cool, but not to cold. Not a bad day)
frontlawn17.jpg

Feb 19th: (Wake up, get newspaper and go.. what the heck?! That’s about 5 inches)
frontlawn19.jpg

Feb 20th: (Today – Bright Sunny, but still cold)
frontlawn20.jpg

As always, photos can be clicked on to see bigger (but not super huge) images.

So maybe I’ll blog more, now that I can take pictures. =)

I’ve been knitting away on my Shawl Design. I’m on row 73. I’d take a picture but there really isn’t much progress, maybe when I get around row 125 I’ll stretch it out and see what it looks like for the camera.

Hugs
Tina

3 Comments

Filed under Family Life

3 responses to “Pictures Return!

  1. I love the new theme and I love your new pictures. The mountains! You’re so lucky.

  2. Just think of the cool “new baby” shots you’ll get to take with the new camera!!!

  3. charity

    Hey there! What’s up? I’ve been reading your blog, but haven’t tried posting anything. New camera’s are fun…we’ve had one for 2 years now, and I still barely know how to use it!! Anyway, I just wanted to say Hi and Love you. Oh, by the way, I’ve just been inducted into the MySpace craze, so you’ll have to look me up. Take care Sis!! Hugs & Kisses…

Leave a Reply

