For Burps

burpclothcup.jpg

With my newest due date, I have 102 days left til Baby M is due to show up. (Apr 2nd is my next ultrasound due date for all of you wondering about gender…)

I decided to pull out my stash and found a few skeins of Shine (knitpicks, cotton)

Having
seen the super popular “Mason Dixon” dishcloth around the blogs for
months now, I looked through my collection and found the original
pattern from around 1992 (it was a free hand out at a store I shopped
at once) Changing it a bit so both my yellow and blue skeins would be
used equally I came up with Baby M’s first burp cloth. (I made about 10
of these type of blankets back in 1994 for Christmas)

Instead of
crocheting around the edges I picked up stitches with the yellow and
knitted a few rows with it then changed to blue and did some seed
stitch. I increased a bit at the corners each time around, maybe a bit
to much… it seems a bit wavy, but it’s going to work and is nice and
soft and baby friendly patterned.

burpclothdone.jpg

I have extra Shine left over in pink, yellow, green, blue, orange… I’m thinking of doing a plain stripy cloth with seedstitch boarder (seed stitch is my newest favorite thing …)

I’m also thinking of scrapping my baby blanket idea and getting some more shine. Price wise it’s not bad, and it’s just so soft…. I’ll wait til after the 2nd before I decide on colors.

Leave a comment

Filed under Needle Knits

Leave a Reply

