More on Spinning

I bought some green varigated roving at Yarn Today, yesterday and spent a bit of time last night spinning some more. I read somewhere that you should try to spin 10 to 15 mins a day, and soon you’ll be a master. (ahaha.. but it’s a good idea, I know my thumb that pinches the twist sure takes a beating after 15 mins)

Here are some more pictures. I’ve got the spinning thinner, and in some spots I’m thinking it might be to thin now! (not shown in the pictures though.. but some spots are thread thin….) LOL!  I can see though, how addicting and relaxing spinning can be.  I’m even getting better at spinning and letting it go while I draft instead of stopping it and drafting.  I don’t think I’m a natural though, but it’s fun. I’m still scared about plying and ever making usable yarn. Over twist, plying, bias, S and Z twist and all that scares me.

Here it is plyed back on it self.

So to the hand spinners out there. What do you think?  Am I getting it?

*~*~*~

On Knitting news, I’m finishing up a Log cabin blanket and doing a knitted on border. I’ve searched everywhere for ways to do a mitered corner. Finally I’ve given up trying to find instructions and I’m wondering if something like this will work.

I’m using k4, k2tog (body stitch), turn, K5 for the border

So:

Row 0: k4, k2tog, turn, k5 back

Row 1: k4 turn, k4 back

Row 2: k3 turn, k3 back

Row 3: k2 turn, k2 back

Row 4: k1 turn, k1 back

Row 5: K2 turn, k2 back

Row 6: k3 turn, k3 back

Row 7: k4 turn, k4 back

Row 8: k4, k2tog, turn k5 back…. think that would turn the corner and make it look okay?

3 Comments

Filed under Family Life

3 responses to “More on Spinning

  1. have you ever done a short row heel? Wrap and Turn!

    RS: k4, w&t,
    WS: k4 back
    k3, w&t,
    k3 back
    k2, w&t
    k2 back
    k1, w&t
    k1 back

    then working the wraps…

    k1, pick up wrap and knit tog tbl with the stitch it wrapped,
    sl1, k1
    k2, pick up wrap and knit tog tbl with the stitch it wrapped,
    sl1, k2
    k3, pick up wrap and knit tog tbl with the stitch it wrapped,
    sl1, k3
    k4, pick up wrap and knit tog tbl with the stitch it wrapped,
    sl1, k4

    then go back to working your border as you were before with the k4, k2tog (body stitch), turn, K5 for the border

    I used this technique on the wrap that’s in the upcoming Winter IK 🙂

  2. abby

    Spinning looks great! Better than mine at that point! Time to start plying! Plying is my favorite as it tends to mask the thick and thin spots and you end up with a nice “knittable” yarn. Make sure you give it a very hot bath after you ply it and then let it hang dry. That makes all the difference in making the yarn look nice and feel soft.

  3. The spinning looks lovely. It’s good that you take a little time for yourself everyday to do this. The colours are so pretty.

Leave a Reply

