The Ants go marching…

4 by 4 hoorah, hoorah. Almost 12 years down to 3 months….

Sometimes I forget that I’m the mom of 4 kids. It’s not that I forget the kids, it’s just I forget that I’ve given birth to them and it’s forever changed my life. Shrug. Not sure what I’m trying to say.

I’m glad I have 4 children, I just never thought I would.  4 is mucho much children in today’s society (though not so much in the area of the country I live in) and when I hear statistcs saying what it takes to raise a child, my mind sort of just goes numb.

I think I’m having a tiny bit of mommy depression. I’m feeling like a Mom, and not a woman. I seriously think I need some friend time where I’m outside of the little Mom Box.  Sadly this summer when all the cool ‘girl’ things at church was going on I had to miss it because of baby stuff.  I just need fix of silliness that doesn’t involve goo-gooing a moody baby, trying to make a 10 year old moody boy to laugh, deal with a moody pre-teen-stuckinherself-girl, or a 5 year old who knows everything and doesn’t need mom anymore… Know what I mean, or am I the only one that is feeling this way.

I love my kids.  I just am pretty sure their mom is about to go looney in a bad way lol…. (lala lala)

5 Comments

Filed under Family Life

5 responses to “The Ants go marching…

  1. Life does get hectic and it seems that all we do at times is be a Mom/wife. Lately, I have set a few hours for myself everyday. After I drop B at school, I put on my headphones and I go for a 5 mile run…it is not much time but it makes a huge difference in my day. Maybe all you need is just an hour without the kiddos everyday so you can re-fuel ;).

  2. mariajhmom

    I have 5 kids so I know what you’re saying!!! When they were all at home, my knitting and quilting saved me. Is there a Bible study at your church that provides child care? Sometimes the best thing you can do for your kids it go away!!! It’s bad when a trip to the grocery store by yourself is fun.

  3. My youngest is thirteen so its been a while since I’ve had a baby but I remember those days well. I used to love going to work because the 40 minute drive was truly the only time I had to myself. I agree that you should check with your church about a bible study. My church used to have a women’s bible study one morning each week and it was great. Nowadays too many people work so we don’t have it anymore. I know it’s hard to find “me” time but it is very important to get some once in a while. Hang in there.

  4. Although I can sympathize, I don’t have any kids and can’t really offer any advice. When I was growing up my Mom worked part-time and went to school part-time and I know it made a positive difference for the rest of the family that she had something else going on other than us… so don’t feel guilty when you take some time for yourself, even if it’s just 15 minutes of spinning.

  5. i dont mind how much you talk to me at knit night! im just glad youre willing to answer my dumb questions!

Leave a Reply

