I’ll trade you one wood for a sheep!!!

My family is hopelessly addicted to Catan

While in Idaho for Mother’s Day, J’s brother and sister in law brought Settlers of Catan with them.

OMG! How is it so addicting? I would try to explain it to you but I’m not sure it’s explainable.

Well, lets see.

The board looks a bit like this (but it changes every time, randomness is a good thing)

The tiles get laid out differently each time. We have 2 versions of the game, the original Catan and Seafarers of Catan. Thus we get to play with islands and boats along with settlements, cities and roads. The different tiles represent different resources, the numbers on them represent dice rolls etc..

Sheep, Wood, Wheat, Brick (or clay), Ore.

You need wood and brick to make roads

Sheep and Wood to make ships

Sheep, Wood, Wheat and Brick to make a settlement

2 Wheat and 3 ore to upgrade to a city… etc etc.

Then there’s a pirate ship and a robber that gets involved if a 7 is rolled. oooooh scary.

Don’t get it?

Don’t worry M doesn’t either… but the 10 year old boy and 12 year old girl does. The almost 6 year old girl acts as banker, card straightener, and helper of Daddy. She also takes over when one of the other kids gets bored and does all right. It really isn’t hard to learn, just to explain….

So if you need me, I’ll be trading my brick for some ore to upgrade my city… I want a Victory Point!

EDIT TO ADD:

Heather, you left me a comment on my previous post about the pregnancy center but I can’t contact you because I didn’t get any contact info. Email me at tina AT edgarhome DOT com and I’ll get back to you! Or Ravelry – Ladydove – Or send me your blog so I can leave you a comment. I realize that I probably should KNOW who you are, but right now, my brain is a fog… duh….

5 Comments

Filed under Family Life

5 responses to “I’ll trade you one wood for a sheep!!!

  1. I LOVE THIS GAME!! We used to play it all the time when I lived in Salt Lake, but haven’t really had the opportunity as much here!!! Hopefully when we get back and settled I can play it again πŸ™‚

  2. Me too! My husband and I LOVE to play and we’re always on the look out for other people who know how to play. And who don’t mind that we’re a little ruthless. πŸ™‚ My favorite is the longest road.

  3. The Lewis’s (not just us but Dan’s whole family) are completely addicted to this game! Any time there is a family visit, there is much Catan playing. Glad you found the love of the game… it is a GREAT game! πŸ™‚ Another good one (completely different type of game) is Fluxx. Give it a try, GREAT GREAT FUN! πŸ™‚

  4. I used to play this game over 10 years ago.. we had extension sets and would play with 8 or more people… crazy!! I was actually just thinking about this game the other day and wondering if we could perhaps “convert” our neighbors into catan players. Another you might like if you can get a biggish group is “the Great Dalmudi” (spelling?)
    Also, I included my email this time as I left a comment … can you see it? I am working on baby booties today and can’t wait to talk more at knitting :o) !!!

  5. Just wanted to come by and wish you a happy, happy Birthday :).

Leave a Reply

